21 May 2016


Andrea Vesco and Andrea Guerini won the 33rd Mille Miglia at the wheel of a 1931 Alfa Romeo 6C 1750 GS Zagato. It was the seventh time a Zagato bodied car reached the highest step of the podium in the regularity race since 1977. This year, three Zagato-bodied Alfa Romeos finished within the first five placements: as well as Vesco/Guerini, Scuderia Sports Zagato's crew formed by Giordano Mozzi and Stefania Biacca came in third OA in a 1933 6C 1500 Gran Sport TF. Alessandro Gamberini and Gaetano Derosa, in a 1930 6C 1750 GS, finished fifth OA. The Scuderia Sports Zagato team scored also a seventh place thanks to Tonconogy/Ruffini from Argentina. Zagato and Alfa Romeo played a leading role in the history of the Mille Miglia winning five times in 24 events. Images: Foto RENE'